NYPL Blog

Not sure what to read next? Explore expert-curated lists filled with must-read books across all genres. Or take a deep dive into The New York Public Library's research collections with posts written by our librarians, curators, and staff. And discover the diverse array of programs, resources, services, and materials offered by NYPL.

Explore By:

  • Decoys, Stand-Ins, and Posuers: Fake Relationship Romances

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | August 8, 2022
    This trope is alive and kicking in romance books as authors find fun new ways to play with the fake-dating-turned-true-love dynamic.
  • Princess Books for the 21st Century Child

    By Clarissa Cooke, Children's Librarian | August 8, 2022
    96th Street Library
    Here is an inclusive list of princess books that go beyond being rescued by a handsome prince.
  • Reading David McCullough

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | August 8, 2022
    His books are detailed and often lengthy, but also page-turners that bring history to life with vivid storytelling.
  • Nine New Memoirs of Family and Self-Discovery

    By Cierra Bland, Social Media Manager | July 26, 2022
    These recently released memoirs will enthrall and move readers.
  • A National Parks Reading List

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | July 15, 2022
    Explore the parks through books—their history, memorable visits, and fiction thrillers that delve into the dangers of the wilderness.
  • An A-Z List of Notable Books Gamers and Non-Gamers Will Love

    By Nicole Celic, Adult Librarian | July 14, 2022
    Whether you want to learn more about gaming history or see your favorite characters come to life on the page, we have the book for you.
  • YA Breakup Books for Fans of 'Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between'

    By Carrie Mcbride, Blog Editor | July 13, 2022
    These teen titles explore the many permutations of a breakup: making the decision, coping with heartbreak, and believing in love again.
  • Be Persuaded: Charming Retellings of Austen's Classic Romance 'Persuasion'

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | July 11, 2022
    These retellings have different settings and variations on the characters and plot but revolve around the same central conflict. 
  • Spend Your Summer With a Series

    By NYPL Staff | July 7, 2022
    Choose a series so instead of sadness, reaching the end of the book will leave you with excitement for the next one!
  • Contemporary Romances with a Reality Show Twist

    By Carrie McBride, Communications | July 6, 2022
    A reality tv show will either bring them together or break them apart in these modern romance reads.