Maher Stern Award

An annual award to an outstanding NYPL Library Manager and his/her staff.

The Maher Stern Award for Service Excellence was established by Allison Maher Stern and her husband Leonard Stern in 1993, to recognize a Library Manager and his or her staff who have done an exemplary job in providing outstanding community service. This Award is central to our work at The New York Public Library because it recognizes the Library's most important asset: our dedicated and hardworking staff. Each year, the Award is given to the winning Library Manager who receives a $1,000 cash award and a framed certificate, along with $1,000 for the Branch to help enhance its quality of service.

2013 Kaydene Humphrey, Kips Bay Branch
2012 Adriana Blancarte-Hayward, New Dorp Branch
2011 Liana Acevedo, Jerome Park Branch
2010 Carol Small, Hamilton Grange Branch
2009 Gloria Hughes, Grand Concourse Branch
2008 Jennifer Craft, Mulberry Street Branch
2007 Michael Alvarez, Bronx Library Center
2006 Theresa Myrhol, New Dorp Branch
2005 Jean Pamphile, Hamilton Grange Branch
2004 Colbert Nembhard, Morrisania Branch
2003 Alexandra Sax, Job Information Center
2002 Marie Nesthus, Donnell Media Center
2001 Louise Lareau, South Beach Branch
2000 Jayne Pierce, Hamilton Fish Park Branch
1999 Ronald Chan, Chatham Square Branch
1998 Christiana Pinto, Aguilar Branch
1997 Elissa Glick Webber, Melrose Branch